welcome to...   MereLewis .com
C.S. Lewis (... philosopher, moralist, writer, professor ...)
featured Essays, Excerpts, & Writings  by C.S. Lewis 
  • take it or leave it
  • wishful thinking
  • there are two kinds of people in the end
  • he’d rather itch than not
  • those who choose it will have it
  • what some people say
  • an interview with an apostate cleric
  • successful rebels to the end
  • sins of omission
  • Man or Rabbit?
  • What Are We to Make of Jesus Christ?

  • C.S. LEWIS,
    (1898-1963). The death of C.S. Lewis on Nov. 22, 1963, was not much noticed at the time, because it occurred on the same day as the assassination of United States President John F. Kennedy. Yet for three decades Lewis had been one of the most widely read authors on Christian teaching in the Western world.

    Clive Staples Lewis was born in Belfast, Ireland, on Nov. 29, 1898. He was educated by private tutor and then at Malvern College in England for a year before attending University College, Oxford, in 1916. His education was interrupted by service in World War I. In 1918 he returned to Oxford where he did outstanding work as a classical scholar. He taught at Magdalen College, Oxford, from 1925 to 1954, and from 1954 until his death in Oxford he was professor of Medieval and Renaissance English at Cambridge University in Cambridge. He was highly respected in his field of study, both as a teacher and writer. His book “The Allegory of Love: a Study in Medieval Tradition”, published in 1936, is considered by many to be his best work.

    It was as an apologist for Christianity that Lewis gained his greatest audience. In his attempt to formulate a core of Christian understanding, Lewis wrote a number of highly readable books--intelligent, imaginative, and often witty. Among these were: “The Pilgrim's Regress”, published in 1933, “The Problem of Pain” (1940), “Miracles” (1947), and “The Screwtape Letters” (1942), probably his most popular work. He also wrote a trilogy of religious science fiction novels: “Out of the Silent Planet” (1938), “Perelandra” (1943), and “That Hideous Strength” (1945). For children he wrote a series of seven allegorical tales, beginning with “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe” in 1950. His autobiography, “Surprised by Joy”, was published in 1955.

    Excerpted from
    Compton’s Interactive Encyclopedia
    Copyright 1994, 1995
    Compton’s NewMedia, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.